The Village Barbers

village_barbers_blackheath

It’s shearing time again, so this time I thought I’d try The Village Barbers. This is a much smaller, and less ostentatious looking place than Chandler Wright Hair, which I’ve been to in the past (and posted about at length). It has a much better view across the heath (it is up near The Bookshop on the Heath, and the Buenos Aires Cafe).

I have to say, I was very pleased – it is quite an old fashioned sort of place… It made me smile as some little boy was having his hair cut, amid constant reassurance from his mum, and the hairdresser that he was “doing really well” and “had nothing to worry about” (why is it that having your hair cut terrifies little kids so much? Maybe hair really are your aerials…)

It cost £15 instead of the £40 from the other place (I guess they have to pay for those Birds of Paradise flowers somehow), and most importantly, was thoroughly approved of by Mrs Bugle….

Contact info: 13 Royal Parade, London, SE3 0TL 020 8852 0771, or click on the map.

5 Comments

Filed under blackheath village, shops

5 responses to “The Village Barbers

  1. try one on the standard, my son was very happy with that one – arrived some time ago from spain and still with some (nice) spanish manners and not expensive either

  2. Anonymous

    Recently moved to the area. I badly needed a haircut but was against the idea of paying more than £25. Found the village barbers via google and was happy to see they were open on Sunday. The staff were friendly and there is a good view of the heath in the mirrors, not that that’s the most important thing while getting your hair cut, but its a nice bonus. They did a good job with my hair (impressive, considering how little they had to work with!). All at a fair £14. I would recommend them

  3. Ed

    I’ve been going to them for years and find it’s a relaxed place to have a hair cut.

  4. Nicole

    I like them very much, they cut my little one’s hair while asleep and sprawled on my lap and managed a really good cut

  5. Pete

    A good cut, and friendly staff, if only they were actually open until 4:30 on Sunday as all the online listings say.

Leave a comment