Nationwide – proud to be difficult

nationwide

I’ve recently been having a bit of a clear out, and this included the elephant. Now, before you assume that this will be an unpleasant tale about elephant enemas, I assure you, the elephant involved is actually a piggy bank.

So having emptied, and sorted every coin in the elephant into separate bags for each type of coin, I wandered down to the Nationwide branch in Blackheath. I have an account with them. And I had some money I’d like to put into the account… Which seemed reasonable enough to me…

The cashier took one look at my lovingly sorted bags, and said “Oh, we don’t take cash like that, it has to be in our own money bags, and we only take full bags“. Unbelievable.

Now, I realise that banks (and building societies) don’t want to be dealing with huge quantities of cash, and that they’d much rather be selling me car insurance, holiday insurance, or something else, but I wasn’t impressed – I’d already counted, and sorted it – all they’d have to do is drop it onto their scales, and figure out the cost. And they’re a building society for God’s sake!

So I went off to Natwest instead, and they happily deposited it for me without batting an eyelid. No Natwest in Blackheath though…

(Photo based on an original here.)

4 Comments

Filed under blackheath village

4 responses to “Nationwide – proud to be difficult

  1. lombard wall

    No Natwest in Blackheath VILLAGE I think you mean….. There’s (a very busy) one in Stratheden Parade at Blackheath Standard.

    Otherwise, good blog !

  2. I seem to be having a bit of memory loss at the moment! I should get up to Blackheath Standard more often – have you seen http://histandard.blogspot.com/ by the way?

  3. Katrina

    I’m trying to open a bank account with them – and oh my goodness you are so very right, they are unecessarily difficult.

  4. Pingback: Piggybanks and Edvard Munch | The Blackheath Bugle

Leave a Reply

