Recognise this?

boundaries between lewisham and greenwich across blackheath
No, I didn’t think you would.

Is it the Berlin Wall (very topical)?

No…

It’s the boundary line drawn across Blackheath. Hand me the honeycomb.

I sometimes imagine a Great Wall of Blackheath slapped right down the centre of the high street. It’s a really daft border – I only realised how daft it was when I wandered to the wrong polling station at the last local election. Greenwich is the bit on the right. Lewisham’s on the left. You can see the full boundary using this ingenious openstreetmap tool.

Boundary between Greenwich and Lewisham council boroughs in Blackheath

I’ve just been trying to find out whether Prime Time could be be turned into a bookies, as suggested in the comments page – so I’ve been to Lewisham Council’s planning pages, and typed in “3 Blackheath Village, London, SE3 9LA”… The cryptic messages suggested that we are actually talking about GreenwichLand, so I hopped over the border (without my passport) and went to the Greenwich Council planning website. Nothing there either. Which either means that

a) it hasn’t been sold yet
b) local council planning websites are hopeless, but planningalerts.com has been shut down
or
c) As shown below:

“But Mr Dent, the plans have been available in the local planning office for the last nine months.”

“Oh yes, well as soon as I heard I went straight round to see them, yesterday afternoon. You hadn’t exactly gone out of your way to call attention to them, had you? I mean, like actually telling anybody or anything.”

“But the plans were on display …”

“On display? I eventually had to go down to the cellar to find them.”

“That’s the display department.”

“With a flashlight.”

“Ah, well the lights had probably gone.”

“So had the stairs.”

“But look, you found the notice didn’t you?”

“Yes,” said Arthur, “yes I did. It was on display in the bottom of a locked filing cabinet stuck in a disused lavatory with a sign on the door saying ‘Beware of the Leopard’.”

3 Comments

Filed under blackheath

3 responses to “Recognise this?

  1. Andrew Brown

    Prime Time is definitely in Greenwich, but your point b) remains true and the decision by Royal Mail about post codes is a real shame.

  2. Yeah I have given Lewisham’s planning dept a piece of my mind several times when documents for major planning applications relating to Deptford have only been available by going to Catford to view them. Sometimes they put them in the library here but by no means always. It turns the consultation process into a farce.

Leave a Reply

