The Blackheath Igloo

The Blackheath Igloo on eBay

I can’t believe I missed the Blackheath igloo! It happened like this… Rubyeva sent me a post with a link to this eBay page. Spammers often do this, so when the page wouldn’t open on my silly phone, I assumed it had been removed. Today I finally managed to open it, and discovered the Blackheath Igloo, several days too late to actually go and admire it. I am distraught.

Anyway, the mysterious eBay user “123taharris” actually went ahead and made one! I assumed the snow would be too powdery, but clearly not! If Blackheath gets some more snow, we should organise a concerted effort to rebuild it! Maybe a whole igloo commune!

To “123taharris”: I am so impressed… I’d thought about doing exactly the same thing, and wrote about it here last week, but like many of my best laid plans, it never actually happened.

They attempted to sell the igloo on eBay as

Beautiful single storey, open plan eco-apartment. Use of original materials throughout and employs state of the art natural ventilation methods. Backs on to Blackheath with stunning views straight from the doorway. Stays cool in the summer and warm in the winter. Free of council tax, water and electricity bills. 5 mins walk from Blackheath station and all conveniences.
Viewing by appointment only. No reserve. Buy now to avoid disappointment (i.e, melting.)

Which makes me smile. Didn’t sell, which is a shame, as they were offering the proceeds to a charity.  There are a more photos of it on the eBay page.

3 Comments

Filed under blackheath, snow

3 responses to “The Blackheath Igloo

  1. Wow – it would be cool if someone did step-by-step igloo instructions for next time!

  2. Louise1980

    I saw them building the igloo while walking the dog on Tuesday. I was talking to some people who said that it started with just a few people building it, but people kept stopping to join in. Nothing like a bit of snow to bring people together!

Leave a Reply

