The twin spires

Blackheath All Saints Church by Flickr User Robert Brook

I’m pretty myopic at the best of times, but I’m fairly sure that I saw the Crystal Palace Transmitter as the 108 bus rose over the hill, coming back on to the Heath from the Royal Standard.

When it is clear like that, it’s nice to look out across the horizon, and wonder what other beings would make of this place. Do we worship tall things? The spire of All Saints church really does cut through the skyline of Blackheath – it’s almost impossible to see anything else – your eye is so drawn to it, as you head over the heath. The Google Map satellite view gives a striking impression – just look at the shadow lying across the grass.  It reminded me of other places – we show what is important to us by pointing up to the sky.

It’s harder to use Google to figure out whether it was the crystal palace transmitter that I saw behind the church – there isn’t enough elevation information available online – it all seems to be jealously guarded behind pay-walls (unless you’re looking for Martian elevation data, in which case you can take all you like!).

It also reminded me of the wonderful dinosaurs there (in Crystal Palace park, not the church…)  Well worth a look if you’ve never seen them.

3 Comments

Filed under blackheath village, Not Blackheath but nearby, things to do

3 responses to “The twin spires

  1. Kate

    I’m sure it is Crystal Palace too. When I was a child though I thought it was the Eiffel Tour so maybe my geography isn’t so reliable.

  2. Mrs Bins

    Ah! The Crystal Palace transmitter! (Not very) Fond memories of having my relaxing Sunday afternoons when I lived in Sydenham listening to records on my hi-fi being interrupted by BBC1 coming unwantedly through the speakers……

  3. Matt

    I think you’re right – http://www.flickr.com/photos/latt/2924101087/sizes/o/ is a photo from my roof, where you can see it just poking up from behind the trees. I think the other transmitter tower (to the left) is Croydon. Apologies for the quality.

Leave a Reply

