Race for Life

Race For Life Blackheath 1

There is a Race for Life happening on Blackheath Common in aid of Cancer Research.  The event is on Sunday 13th July 2008, and starts at 10:30am.  You don’t have to run it – you can jog or stumble if you prefer.  (Mrs Bugle is taking part, and will be striding athletically throughout of course…)

There’s still time to enter if you’re feeling sporty, or if you only run when being chased, you can always donate instead.  Starting point mapped here.

Photos of 2005’s event, taken by zimpenfish

Race For Life Blackheath 2

9 Comments

Filed under blackheath common, charities

9 responses to “Race for Life

  1. Aha, perfect – just the man who might be able to answer a question about the race (I’m doing it too – I’ll be alternating between athletic striding and wheezy waddling). Do you know the route of the course? I did a Blackheath-Greenwich 5k last weekend to scope out the setting but I couldn’t work out how they were going to manage it without closing Shooters Hill and surely that would cause traffic chaos all over south east London?!

  2. blackheathbugle

    Well, their website doesn’t mention the route, it only has a vague map showing the heath. So I called them, and they said that they don’t announce the full route until the day of the race for (guess what?) health and safety reasons.

    Basically, if there’s a fallen tree blocking the proposed route, then they might have to change it at short notice. But they told me the starting point would be somewhere on the Prince of Wales road, and that it would be very obvious on the day… So I guess we’ll have to wait and see!

  3. Now there’s service for you! Thanks for phoning. The starting point was my main query, as my mum wants to park nearby and I wasn’t sure which side of the heath we’d need to head for.
    Now, which is the best Blackheath restaurant in which to pile the pounds back on after the race?!

  4. Hel

    Thank you for this site, I was getting all confused with no route and no starting point anywhere in existence that I can find.
    Honestly, the least they could do is at least tell us that they don’t announce it until the day! It would have saved me a lot of researching on the internet and in paperwork.
    Tut.
    Thanks again.

  5. You’re very welcome! Tell your friends etc etc!

  6. hayley

    i took part in the race for life today at blackheath i was quite overwhelmed at all the messages for loved ones i did it today for my grandad and for others who fight and fought cancer i compleated the race in 30 mins running well done everyone who participated and for the boys doing the bobby moore run.

  7. LINDA STEED

    YESTERDAY I RACED FOR MY MUM. IT WAS A VERY EMOTIONAL DAY I THOUGHT I WOULD FEEL EXHILIRATED BUT I WAS TOTALLY OVERWHELMED BY ALL THE EMOTIONS AND THE PEOPLE THAT WERE RUNNING BECAUSE THEY HAD EITHER LOST FAMILY OR KNEW SOMEONE SUFFERING FROM THIS DREADFUL DISEASE MY HEART GOES OUT TO ANYONE AFFECTED BY CANCER AND WELL DONE TO EVERYONE THAT PARTICIPATED IN SUCH A GREAT DAY. I WILL BE THERE AGAIN NEXT YEAR IN MEMORY OF MY MUM WHO PASSED AWAY IN JANUARY AND I MISS HER EVERY DAY

  8. Isle

    It was a hot but a great day! I raced for my mum too who is fighting her best right now and although sounds a bit cheesy, I felt there is hope if we all try to make a difference. I did not like all that music and dance together stuff, but anyway, that also makes some people happy. I am sure your mum is watching you somewhere proudly.

  9. Pingback: The definitive route for the Race for Life last weekend « The Blackheath Bugle

Leave a Reply

