Virtual Tour of Blackheath

Evening Blackheathens… I had a day off today, so thought I’d have a go at making a virtual tour of Blackheath.

Armed with the lousy mobile phone camera, I took a photo every few steps, and then put them all together into a little web thingy.

If you click on the photo below, you’ll start downloading the tour. It will take a couple of minutes, so you might want to put the kettle on. Once it is ready, you can choose where to begin from a list of options, then click around the screen to move forwards and backwards. Some of the routes are limited, and some are a bit confusing, as you have to effectively walk backwards to get to them… Anyway, you’ll see what I mean.

Blackheath Wanderer Flash Game click to open

Don’t forget to wait until it has finished loading before you click anywhere (I’ll put a proper loading screen in later!). If this one isn’t working properly, there is a copy here.

I hope to update it to make it more like a game (maybe like this brilliant game based around Soho), but my Flash skills will need to improve before then.

Let me know if any of it doesn’t make sense – I’ve already removed quite a few impossible loops etc.

7 Comments

Filed under blackheath, things to do

7 responses to “Virtual Tour of Blackheath

  1. Gerald Adley

    Brillian website. I live in Chicago. I attended St Josephs Academy Grammar School, Lee Terrace, Blackheath between 1955 and 1960.

  2. Thanks Gerald, if you have any memories or suggestions that might be good here – please let me know!

  3. Bob Land

    Really good views of the Village, the buildings have not changed much in the last 40 to 50 years, but obviously the occupents have.

    well done

  4. Pingback: Google Street View comes to Blackheath « The Blackheath Bugle

  5. Erik Nygard

    My Family from the US lived in Blackheath for several months while my father was on sabbatical to study in Britain. We lived in the home of the Jups (sp?) in 1967. I recall at age 7 the Beatles’ Penny Lane was on the Top of the Pops. I recall a wonderful toy store in the village where I enjoyed the Hornby trains and Corgi toy cars and trucks.

    Any one recall the toy store?

  6. Bob Land

    Raggety Ann’s , near the Railway Station.

Leave a Reply

