Daily Archives: June 11, 2008

No More Momo Franks

Momo Franks Gone

Another one bites the dust. It looks very much like Momo Franks is no more, as mentioned by Masie here. Just had a wander past to try and take my mind off the wisdom tooth, and there are big signs up saying “Entire Property Lease for Sale”, which suggests that my supply of olives and humous will have to come from somewhere else. (More trips to the wonderful TFC in Lewisham to compensate)…

Bang and Olufsen

Also added to the deadpool a while back was Bang and Olufsen. Which is a shame, as I never quite managed to go in there, but always wandered past, thinking “I must go and look at their beautiful, if overpriced hi-fi units”. Ever since I was an extremely small bugle (cornet? cornetto? no…) I rember my aunt and uncle had one of these astonishing CD players, where the lid opened automatically when you touched the glass surface with your finger! And the volume was adjusted by sliding your finger up and down the glass, which would light up red beneath it! It was all very James Bond. Anyway, now they’re gone, and you have to travel to Sevenoaks if you still feel the need.  Hope the next owners leave the clock up there.

8 Comments

Filed under blackheath village, restaurants, shops